A couple of qestions

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by Initial M, Mar 29, 2005.

1. Initial M

Initial M Member

Hi,

I am new to gardening and I got a couple of questions.
    #1 When a venus fly trap goes dormat should you cut the dead leaves off or keep them on?

#2 I just reviced some jade cuttings and I was told to put them in water so they can root. I was wondering if this is the best method to start a jade plant. And if it is not the best method what do I do to start a jade plant?

Thanks
    -Mark Hopkin

2. Junglekeeper

Junglekeeper Esteemed Contributor 10 Years

I don't see a problem with leaving the dead leaves in place. They'll slowly decay as they would do so naturally in a bog (where the plant is found) and become part of the growing medium. It probably wouldn't make much difference either way so their removal is a personal preference, IMHO.

Jade is really easy to root. Make a cut just below a node and put the cutting aside for a few days to allow the wound to dry completely. Then plant the cutting in a suitable medium and it'll take root. I once left a cutting to dry for almost two weeks and it start to root on its own. Tough as nails.

3. Initial M

Initial M Member

Thanks, but what do you mean by node.

4. Junglekeeper

Junglekeeper Esteemed Contributor 10 Years

A node is the the joint between sections in the stem. You may be able to just plant what you have depending on where your friend made the original cut. A single leaf will also root if you place it on top of the soil. Did I mention these things are easy to root?

5. Norm_Jr

Norm_Jr Member

Hello!

Thank you for all of the information!

What is "suitable Medium" for jade plants?

Norm_Jr

6. kome

kome Active Member

for example:potting soil

7. Rima

Rima Active Member