spathiphyllum from seed (indoor)

Discussion in 'Araceae' started by Eldhr, Oct 30, 2009.

1. Eldhr

Eldhr Member

Hi everyone,

I recently bought spathiphyllum wallisii seeds because I thought it would be more interesting to raise a plant than just buying a full-grown one. However, I have zero experience with this. I heard a Peace Lily is a pretty easy plant, but I'm still not sure how to do this properly. Can anyone give some pointers, please? (for spathiphyllum or in general) I would also like to know how long it takes for a peace lily seed to germinate.

Last edited: Oct 30, 2009
  2. photopro

photopro Well-Known Member

Found from the Medellin area of Colombia northward through much of Central America into Mexico and south into Paraguay Spathiphyllum walissi forms a dense clump with the plant growing to less than one meter in height. The inflorescences rise above the leaves producing a spathe that is white once the plant reaches sexual anthesis. If pollinated the spathe turns green once the spadix begins to produce fruit. The species resembles Spathiphyllum patinii.

Growing the plant shouldn't be difficult but it will require some special attention and time.

An aroid the species grows naturally on the edges of water in it's native environment. In fact, Dr. Tom Croat who is the leading expert in this group of plants says he often sees them in standing water.