Fall Mushroom Foraging in Metro Vancouver

Discussion in 'Fungi, Lichens and Slime Molds' started by vancook604, Sep 24, 2009.

1. vancook604

vancook604 Member

Hi I'm a young cook and I've always wanted to go mushroom foraging but I Don't have an idea of where to start. Chanterelles are in season and should be showing up provided we receive some rain and I'd like to harvest some.

I know alot of mushroom pickers like to keep their foraging spots hush hush, I was hoping for a little help as to where I could go hunting other than vancouver island.

Any tips for an amateur mushroom hunter would be greatly appreciated

thanks

2. Frog

Frog Generous Contributor Forums Moderator 10 Years

Hi there,

While it is true that mushroom hunters generally don't share specific locations, you can learn from other mushroomers what habitat you are seeking, and thus find your own spots.

eg. Some kinds are found in fields, some in forest, some in ground, some on wood, some in association with specific trees, plants and/or soil types.

I recommend contacting one of your local mushroom clubs and going out on a foray!

:-)
    frog

3. vancook604

vancook604 Member

thank you for the reply.
    I actually found the vancouver mycological society and hope to attend a meeting next month. I've also sent an email asking about forays and tips.

I'm in the search of Chanterelles and if I find anything else along the way that's a bonus. I've heard rumours about spots on seymour mt and areas close to golden ears park. I hope to make a trip out there next week.

4. vitog

vitog Contributor 10 Years

There are lots of Chanterelles in the North Shore mountains right now. Look for good-sized second growth Douglas Fir trees at elevations below 450 m. They are easiest to find where the big trees shade out most of the undergrowth, for obvious reasons.

5. Dana09

Dana09 Active Member

Yup,
    a forest of Fir trees is what you want to look for.
    Not deer hunting season yet is it? Wear red anyway!