Grafting Round One

Discussion in 'Maples' started by tchapman2004, Nov 23, 2004.

1. tchapman2004

tchapman2004 Member

hello all,
    Newbie here looking for advice. I am a fan of the Maples and have bought about 40 of them over the last few years from Oregon and locally at Metro Maples (in Dallas,Texas area). I tried to graft some plants from some stock I bought and nothing took. So now we are coming up on the winter of my second year at this and I need to get some good info from all you pro's out their. I need advice on where to get root stock and some sort of insight on this grafting process as I only get to try once a year. I am not looking to be a grower - I just think the process of creating another beautiful maple is a wonderful concept in this crazy world....

2. Layne Uyeno

Layne Uyeno Active Member 10 Years

Hi,

You might want to try mountainmaples.com. They have very good prices on root stock. I myself haven't tried my hand at grafting yet, but I have a couple of questions:

Are you sealing off the graft well with a plastic bag, wax, grafting paste, or grafting tape so the graft doesn't dry out?

Are you keeping the graft specimen warm? In order for the graft to take you it needs to be warm. Commercial nurseries keep them in heated greenhouses.

Layne

3. mjh1676

mjh1676 Active Member Maple Society 10 Years

I think Layne is on the right track. I would be in your shoes if and when I try grafting and from what I have been told, the success rate for summer grafts is much better.

In summer you would seal the graft union with tape or wax, tape becoming more available and easier to work with and then you would bag the graft to keep it from drying out.

In summer, it would be good to remove the leaves, but leave some of the petiole. This will decrease water loss to respiration.