UBC Botanical Garden Forums  

» UBC Botanical Garden

Go Back   UBC Botanical Garden Forums > Plants: Identification

Post New ThreadReply

Old September 9th, 2008, 11:07 AM
Registered Plus (3-99 posts)

Wild vine

I live in southeastern VA and wish to identify a vine growing in an uncleared area of my property. The vine has fairly large grape like leaves. The berries are small, (1/4"-3/8") in diameter, each with one seed, similar to a very small cherry seed or pit. The berries hang in clusters at least 4" in length. The berries are green when immature and ripen to black/purple. The flesh is similar in color and texture to the flesh of green grapes. The vine is quite large, reaching into the tree canopy. I am new to the property and have not seen the flowers. I don't know if this was originally a domestic plant that has gone wild or if it is a noxious, invasive pest. I hope that you can tell me if it is something I should attempt to cultivate or something that needs to be erradicated.
Old September 9th, 2008, 11:50 AM
Plant Enthusiast (1000+ posts)

Re: Wild vine

Viburnum?
Old September 9th, 2008, 11:57 AM
Plantaholic

Would it be possible for you to post pics of the leaves and berries. I have never come across a Viburnum that reaches into the tree canopy.
Old September 9th, 2008, 12:36 PM
Ardent Plant Enthusiast (10000+ posts)

So the grape or grape relation resemblance breaks down with the single seed? Is that necessarily true, or do Ampelopsis produce fruits with one or a few seeds?
Old September 9th, 2008, 04:32 PM
Plant Enthusiast (1000+ posts)

How about a Vitis? I know from personal experience that these can grow up, over, around and through anything. Perhaps there is a simple reason for the "grape like leaves".
Old September 10th, 2008, 06:40 AM