Identification: Pandora - Single white blossoms, early; may be 'Pandora'

Discussion in 'Ornamental Cherries' started by wcutler, Mar 18, 2008.

1. wcutler

wcutler Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator VCBF Cherry Scout 10 Years

I noticed this last year and thought it maybe wasn't Accolade or Somei Yoshino or plum, and now I'm pretty sure it isn't one of those. I don't expect it to be identified, as it's in Stanley Park, where there are several one-of-a-kind cherries. It's nestled in among some other trees just town-side of the heronry across from the Park Board office at the foot of Pendrell. I'm not good at judging height, but not to let that stop me, I'll guess 20-25 feet. The blossoms are Akebono size or a bit smaller, and while the tree isn't exactly in bloom yet, it's considerably ahead of the Akebonos and Somei-Yoshinos in the park, which have no open blossoms and are not showing all that much pink in their buds. I'll slip in another photo of the tree when there are more blossoms.

Attached Files:

2. wcutler

Re: What cherry? Single white blossoms, early

A couple more photos. It's much more covered in open blossoms today, 5 days after the first photos.

Attached Files:

3. wcutler

I wonder if the trees posted in this thread in the Mt Pleasant neighbourhood blog are a better version of the same kind of tree - it's also too early in that area to be Akebonos so fully in bloom already, and the trees seem too upright to be Akebono or Somei-yoshino.

4. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

Pick specimens of known variety you think it resembles and compare with ones of these, holding them near one another and noting pertinent details like petal number and shape, shape of calyx etc. If you compared it up close with something similar - maybe 'Akebono' - it might be immediately apparent it was or wasn't that one.