Overwintering plants in clay pots

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by torbie, Aug 9, 2006.

1. torbie

torbie Active Member

I'm fairly new to gardening and have a west facing balcony, that gets some light and wind from the south. Right now I have in clay pots, lavender, rosemary and just starting out with some catnip from seed.

I just read somewhere that clay pots will break in the winter time, I'm not sure about the weather in Vancouver, will it get cold enough over the winter to break the pots?

If anyone can let me know what they think that would be great! If I had to bring the plants indoors, they would be in my south facing livingroom and what, if any, special care would they need?

2. Rima

Rima Active Member

You need to know the quality of the pots - if they were 'high fired' vs 'low fired', which means the kiln temperature and time it took to cook them. You obviously can't know off-hand about most mass produced ones at garden ctres, but you can spend money for Japanese pots, known to be generally of better quality compared to some other well known Asian country's pots (all things being equal), you can mulch your pots very well (hard to do on a balcony tho'), and you can use (for small plant pots) big window boxes, just on the deck, with a layer of mulch on the bottom, the pots set down (not touching) and lots of mulch all around them. If you can rig some kind of windbreak against the NW wall of the balcony, strong enough so your worst winds won't send them crashing all over, do it (the plants won't need much sun til March).

3. torbie

torbie Active Member

Thank-you Rima, for your reply! The pots are just the cheap ones at the garden centre, made in Italy. The window box with the mulch sounds like an idea I could go with. They will be tucked into the NW corner, as there is an overhang, so they can stay a bit dry. I have seen the winds rip through and will find something to buffer that too.