Hedges: Cedar (Help!)

Discussion in 'Gymnosperms (incl. Conifers)' started by cecylo, Apr 3, 2006.

1. cecylo

cecylo Member

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting here. I got a very serious problem with my cedar trees.

We have a lot of cedar trees surrounding our house. I am not sure what kind of the cedar trees they are but I suspected they are Thuja. If you live in Vancouver, you can see a lot of people use the cedar to separate the property and that's the one we have. I don't know how old the trees are, they are around 10 feet high and probably 2 feet wide. Since the trees are too near to our house and blocked our path to our backyard, my husband decided to trim the side of the trees so that there will be a walkable path. The problem is my huband has been trimming too much. He cut all the green leaves and the small branched on one side about 5 feet in height and the trees ended up looking very terrible. The leaves near to the trunk are all dead and turned brown. So it looks like having a big brown hole in the cedar dividing wall. My questions are:

1) Will the leave and branches grow back?
    2) How long will it takes?
    3) What should I do to make the leaves grow faster?
    4) Is it a better idea to replant the cedar?
    5) Since the leaves near the trunk are all dead (it looks green and very heathy at the outter layer tho), what can I do to make the trees more healthy without dead leaves inside?

Please help! Thank you very much.

2. jimmyq

jimmyq Well-Known Member 10 Years

off the cuff answers:
    1) maybe but unlikely.
    2) you may see shoots within a couple months, you may not get shoots.
    3) Ensure the trees get proper watering and fertilizing if necessary.
    4) Probably not, unless you have time to wait for the new ones to grow in.
    5) The interior is usually free of needles and leaf scales, there is no light to support them.

3. Michael F

Michael F Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator 10 Years

Cedar is Cedrus, not Thuja.