Does anyone sell JM seedlings in Canada?

Discussion in 'Maples' started by Asia, May 22, 2007.

1. Asia

Asia Member

Greetings from Toronto!

I purchased a lovely Shaina JM for my back patio garden (full sun in the morning, part shade in the afternoon) and a Bloodgood JM for my front courtyard garden (part sun in morning and afternoon, with a bit of dappled shade from some 4 story tall elm trees) - these trees make me smile and now I want more!

I have looked at some of the many varieties of Acer Palmatum online and I want so many of them - however the local nurseries only have certain types, and most of them are dissectum/cut leaf which I don't like as much.

Not to mention, the prices can be staggering!

In my searches I have found many sites and listings on eBay for JM seedlings, but they do not ship to Canada.

Does anyone know of any place to buy JM seedlings in Canada or that ship to Canada?

Being a novice I am intimidated by the instructions for growing a seedling from seed... which is why I am hoping to find seedlings.

Any thoughts?

2. alex66

alex66 Rising Contributor Maple Society 10 Years

Asia for some cultivar is not legal the commerce in Canada ,for start one idea is :take the seeds in park of your country in autum is easy and GRATIS when your experience is good you search seeds in botanical hortus or Re write in this forum .alex

3. globalist1789

globalist1789 Active Member

How many do you need? Seeds are cheap and easy.

4. Acer palmatum 'Crazy'

Acer palmatum 'Crazy' Active Member Maple Society 10 Years

Hi Asia,
    I buy alot of maples from someone located near Rochester, NY.
    If you send me a email i ill send you her email address.

If she cannot ship them to you, maybe you could drive down that way sometime.

Mike

5. Asia

Asia Member

Thanks for all the replies and suggestions.

I will definitely research the forum to learn how to grow my own seedlings.