Grapefruit pips

Discussion in 'Citrus' started by Selwyn, Feb 15, 2009.

1. Selwyn

Selwyn Member

Hi, to all of you!

I am a rank amateur of the first water being totally lacking in the ability to make anything grow successfully, besides being a first-time newcomer to your website.......

I took two grapefruit pips this morning and buried them about 2-3 cm deep in a commercially marketed plant medium in a pot about 20 cm deep and a circ. of about 10-12 cm.

I have tried this before with apple pips, various small citrus types and date stones - all with no results.

Am I fighting a losing battle, failing to say the magic words, or what?
    Is there any hope for me?

2. KrisDen

KrisDen Member

I am also an amateur, but I have tried this once. Only it was with pear seeds. I think you have to let seeds go through a chill period. I placed my seeds in moist paper towel then into a plastic bag. I then put them into the refrigerator until roots started to sprout. Then I put them into soil. I hope this helps and maybe you can research different chill periods for different seeds.

3. Selwyn

Selwyn Member

Dear KrisDen - many thanks for your prompt reply; I didn't think of "chill-periods" at all! I'll give it a try. BTW - have you any idea how long grapefruit seeds take to germinate and if now is an appropriate time of the year to be trying this?
    Yours,
    Selwyn.

4. KrisDen

KrisDen Member

Hi, I have done a little research in some of my books (should have done that first) and for citrus seeds, it sounds like you may not need a chill period. I know for apple, pears and peaches you do. The following is a copy of the text from my book. It might be more helpful.