Question on apple seedlings

Discussion in 'Fruit and Nut Trees' started by Spirros, Jan 15, 2007.

1. Spirros

Spirros Member

Hi, Im new to these forums (although Ive lurked for quite some time) and I have got a question. I planted a few apple seeds at the beginning of November, and they are currently all in small pots, and have mostly been growing rather well. They came from a Haralson apple, Im pretty sure, and I know they wont produce true to the parent, but I thought Id like to conduct this experiment. However, Ive come to notice that at the base of the stems, the darker skin of the stem seems to be peeling away and it has either continued peeling up farther on the stem, or it was there in the beginning, and has just grown with it. It just has me slightly worried as I dont want them to die, and Im rather new to this whole thing and Im not sure if it is a disease of any specific kind. The skin that is left after the darker skin peels off is a slightly lighter, and somewhat green coloration of the regular stem color. For the past month Ive also been in a "battle" with gnats that have infested the soil as well, although Im not sure if that has anything to do with it. I took a few pictures, one of the plant, and one of the area of which I speak.
    If you guys have any information on this, it would be gladly appreciated. Thanks!

-Jared

P.S. The browning of one of the leaves is from it being slightly burned. It has nothing to do with the stem.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jan 15, 2007
  2. globalist1789

globalist1789 Active Member

If you have a gnat problem then you are watering too often. The breed in the top layer of the soil. If that stays wet then you get more gnats. Let the top inch or so dry before watering... simple as that.

It may be the extra water that is effecting your bark, but as long as it's green and not soft and dark then I think you're ok. However, too much water could lead to real problems in the future.

Michael

3. 4moreaction