What happened to this lilly?

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by sarrah_bastet, Jun 13, 2006.

1. sarrah_bastet

sarrah_bastet Member

HI, I'm new to gardening. I live in Kentucky, USA, so I'm not sure this is the right place to go, but here we go. Actually, it's my mother who loves gardening, which led me to buy her what I call an Easter Lilly for Mother's day a few years ago. (It was single stalk with huge white trumpets on it.) I bought it because unlike most I'd seen which had 4-5 blooms, this one had 14. It was the typical foot or so tall. I figured I'd get more bang for my buck.

Mom planted it in the yard. That next year it came up over 5 foot tall and with lots of blooms. Fast forward a couple more years and we have a whole grouping of the over 5 foot tall stalks, but now they are a light pink.

Is this normal? It's gorgeous, and we love it, but we're just curious why it's SO big and why it changed color. Any information would be greatly appreciated. (I attached a pic of it with my sister who is 5'7". I have other close up pics of the blooms if anyone wants to see.) We just aren't sure if this is normal, and people who visit seem to think it's a mutant, but we were just curious. THANKS!

Attached Files:

2. bcgift52

bcgift52 Active Member

Some of the lilies may be from seed rather than the original bulb, hence the color variation.

3. Rima

Rima Active Member

What the heck are you fertilizing with! Many perennial colors do fade after time, but yours might also be a factor of whatever is growing those UP like that! Maybe tell a local agric. extension office about them (or local Univ.) as they might want to rush over and take pictures :-).

4. sarrah_bastet

sarrah_bastet Member