What to prune!!

Discussion in 'Grapes and Grape Vines' started by Newplanter, Apr 11, 2007.

1. Newplanter

Newplanter Member

Our house has had a grape vine which has went unpruned, unfertalized and untouched. Lately I have had an interest in taking care of this vine. This vine has gone wild ever since we moved here and maybe even before. I have lately been advised by books and articles on the enternet to prune this vine. I look up how to do so and all I get is how to prune the vines withing the first few years of planting. How do I go about pruning this vine since I have had no prior experience pruning at all.
    I look forward to your input on my topic,
    Thank you
    Graham

2. brian

brian Member

Graham I have a grape vine at my place it is proberly 50 years old it is spread over a steel frame maybe 30ft by 20ft it gives great shade in the heat of summer, a couple of times over the last few years i have cut it back, just leaving a couple of main branches, i do this after the grapes have been picked. The next year you would not have thought you had pruned it they grow that quick, I dont think you can kill a grape vine by over pruning Brian

3. victoriarose

victoriarose Member