Increase in rust infestation?

Discussion in 'Rosa (roses)' started by barb nield, May 30, 2009.

1. barb nield

barb nield Member

I have been growing roses - between 250 and 300 - for nearly thirty years down on the Flats in Vancouver, and have only rarely had a problem with rust. This year, however, several roses seem to be badly infected. Could this be the result of such a long, wet Winter/Spring, and, if the garden continues to be afflicted in this way, is the only answer to raize the entire garden and start over? The spores must be absolutely everywhere and I despair of ever having the garden free of the disease.

2. object16

object16 Member

my Fair Bianca here also has rust. I have never seen rust on a FB. You DO NOT need to raize the entire garden. Really bad bushes, can at this point be cut back to the ground. Others can be sprayed throughly with fungicide, after you have plucked the really severely infected leaves off. IMPORTANT: you must cover the ground now with a HEAVY 3-4 inch layer of organic mulch, such as composted christmas trees, composted leaves, basically any kind of compost you can find that is cheap. Bacteria live in this compost, that EAT fungal spores!