Why is my maple turning green?

Discussion in 'Maples' started by cpen, Jul 9, 2004.

1. cpen

cpen Member

Six months ago my husband and I bought a house that has two Japanese maples in the front yard. They're different maples, but both had dark red leaves. I've noticed lately that the leaves seem to be losing their red and turning green.

What's going on? Is something wrong with the soil? Do we need to give them some special fertilizer to keep them red? I have no idea how old they are or what sort of care the previous owner gave them.

Thanks!
    Colleen

2. Layne Uyeno

Layne Uyeno Active Member 10 Years

Hi,

Since no one has taken a stab at this I'll try. Be careful because I'm a newbie at maples too.

It's hard to say without knowing what kind of maple you have. Some maples leaf out in Spring with red leaves, turn green during Summer and then turn colors again in Fall.

Red leaf maples can also turn green if given fertilizer high in nitrogen.

Also, red leaf (and other types of) maples can turn green if not given enough sun.

I know this doesn't answer your question, but it at least gives you the possibilities. I wouldn't worry much about it if your trees are healthy. That's what really matters right?

Layne

3. cpen

cpen Member

Thanks! Yes, a variety of possibilities. My only previous experience of a Japanese maple was a perpetually-red on in a neigbour's yard where we lived before.

We haven't fertilzed with anything. And one of the trees gets full sun. So perhaps they're both the type that turn green in summer. They seem healthy enough, so we'll just watch.

Colleen

4. Dale B.

Dale B. Active Member Maple Society 10 Years

Hi,

I was given an explanation of the red color in Japanese Maples leaves that made since to me: