Yellowish leaves on Blue Atlas

Discussion in 'Gymnosperms (incl. Conifers)' started by Gulin Goktepe, Mar 25, 2005.

1. Gulin Goktepe

Gulin Goktepe Member

Hey all,

I'm very new to gardening and my question is about Blue Atlas. A month back a landspace contractor planted a Blue Atlas tree to my garden and a week ago we have noticed that needles on upper branches of tree turned to yellow. We called the contractor and he said that tree needs fertilizer and they put some fertilizer. He said that give it a 2 weeks to recover. Most of yellow needles dropped and now i'm wondering if it's really possible for tree to go back to its original in 2 weeks.

Thanks,

2. mjh1676

mjh1676 Active Member Maple Society 10 Years

Just a word from experience with the blue atlas--they can be a bit tempramental. I have a weeping and upright form and both will exhibit this behavior from shock. The weeping form I planted in the landscape last fall did not make it. For some reason the root system of these trees does not like to be disturbed and there is some risk, more so than many more tolerant plants, when one is planting. Once planted in the ground, it is advisible not to move in the future for fear of losing the plant. Fertilizer would not be a good idea, but to make sure it is adequately moist while it establishes is about the most you can do for it. Some might recommend a root simulator of sorts, but often some yellowing and minor needle drop is common with these when planted. My upright form shows just a little at the top from its transplant last fall, but it looks otherwise healthy. I am waiting to see what it will do this spring.
    MJH

3. Gulin Goktepe

Gulin Goktepe Member

Thank you MJH for your reply.

4. douglas

douglas Active Member 10 Years

Hi what colour was the burlap used on the root ball?

regards Doug

5. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years