cut/propagate pony-tail??

Discussion in 'Plant Propagation' started by branwyn, Aug 4, 2006.

1. branwyn

branwyn Member

hi yall. i'm a VERY amateur gardener, and everything we own is in a pot, since we live in an apartment.... doin' the best I can, and seem to be doin' alright as mostly we have live healthy plants.... the thing is, my fiance had this pony tail from before, and I know nothing about it. Checked out a couple threads, there wasn't anything definative (did I spell that right? :0) ). It's getting too tall, prob a little taller than me if it was standing real straight, and I'm 5'2.... We want to cut it to keep it from continuing to get these stalks that are kind of flimsy, but I hate to do it if we'll have to lose the top..... how do i cut it, can I repot the top? What do I do. And listen, I really am kinda afraid to do this, its a beautiful plant, and I learned alot already on those other threads, but could ya make sure they are real simply put, step by step instructions? I would appreciate all the help I can get. Thanks!

Cyn

2. Padraigan

Padraigan Active Member

Would it be possible for you to post a photo of this plant?

3. Barry B

Barry B Member

I am wondering whether the ' pony tail ' is what I know as Beaucarnia Recurvata. ..... Sorry bout seemingly important touch to reply. I do not know many plants by its common name.

If it is Beaucarnia, cut it off. Seal the cut on top with a pruning sealer to reduce moisture loss. Just one thing, many new heads will grow from the cut area.

Take the piece you have cut off and replant in a new pot, after having applied some hormone powder. Then watch this grow as well.

4. Padraigan

Padraigan Active Member

Hi Barry,

If you are right with the botanical name, I'd like to ask you a question about your reply to Branwyn.