The Grapefruit Tree

Discussion in 'Citrus' started by grapefruit, Apr 17, 2006.

1. grapefruit

grapefruit Member

Hi, I'm Also New On This Site...i Have A Grapefruit Tree That Was Started From A Seed...it Was Given To Me So, I'm Not Sure How Old It Is...i Put It Outside From Spring To Fall And Then Bring It In The House...it's Kept In A Cool Room And I Water It Once A Week...this Year, More Leaves Have Fallen Off Than Ever Before...some Of The Branches Have Turned Brown And Some Are Still Green ...what's Happening??? Is The Tree Dying??? The Tree Thrives When Outside In The Summer Months...help !!!thank You

2. lemon_dreams

lemon_dreams Active Member

how cold of a room do you keep it in?? Citrus love the heat and tons of light and humidity. If it was too cold, maybe you should check the roots, make sure htat it didn't stay too wet.

I'm really new to citrus myself... hopefully someone will give you the right answers. I'm pretty sure they'd want to know the temperature and how much light it got too... in order to give you the right answers. Pictures often are needed too

3. Millet

Millet Well-Known Member 10 Years

Lemon dreams, your correct. Putting citrus (especially grapefruit) in a cool room is not a good policy at all. It is REALLY NOT a good policy if the tree's foliage is setting directly in the sun's rays while the container is in a cool room. This is a asking for troubles. Even if the tree was very lucky, and has somehow survived with out a lot of damage, 1/2 year's growth has been lost. - Millet

4. lemon_dreams

I'm slowly learning. Unfortunatly I did make a big mistake and moved my citrus from a coolish greenhouse into my very heated and very humid room. lots of flower loss, bud loss... fruit loss. I guess thats better than leaf loss.

Hopefully this person posts more about their cool room and such. Just to get the full story in order to help

5. Millet

Millet Well-Known Member 10 Years