Transplanting a Japanese maple into Bonsai pot

Discussion in 'Maples' started by Atapi, Apr 8, 2014.

1. Atapi

Atapi Well-Known Member

Hi,

I am seeking for some advices when is the best time to transplant a JM tree from a regular pot into the bonsai pot. I just ordered a few 1gal dwarf JMs, they already leafed out when I received them so I wonder should I wait until next Spring when they are still in dormant before cut/clean up some of their roots and branches to place them in the bonsai form?.
    This is my first time to try bonsai cause i like what I see from JT1 collections :).
    Any input is greatly appreciated, Steven.

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

May need to go into bigger pots with fresh soil in the meantime so they do not deteriorate.

3. Daniel Otis

Daniel Otis Active Member Maple Society 10 Years

Hello Atapi--

I agree with Ron that getting them into good fresh soil for the coming year to ensure that they are healthy is a good idea.

When I did bonsai, the consensus was that the best time to repot was in late winter or early spring, ideally when the roots have broken dormancy but there is not yet any top growth. In practice, I've found that any time after Christmas works, as long as you keep the repotted plant from drying out. But we're colder here than you are.

So I'd wait until next winter to repot. This year, even if the plant is doing well, I wouldn't do much more than some minor branch trimming to start establishing the structure and to encourage branches to ramify; this I would do after the first flush of growth has hardened off--end of June here in NY, maybe early June down there.

I might also recommend reducing the root mass in stages. If the plants are in a regular 1-gallon pot now, perhaps next year they could go into a wide, shallow pot, like a bulb pan 4" high and 10 or 12" wide, and then perhaps a bonsai pot the next year. Depends on the depth of the ultimate pot, too.