Im new to growing plants, am I killing mine? I need help!

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by spanish_boy40, Jan 2, 2006.

1. spanish_boy40

spanish_boy40 Member

Hi. I am hoping somone from this site would be able to help me out with my plants. I bought a Dracaena Marginata plant a couple of months ago. My girlfriend thought it would be good to give it some outdoor light so she placed it on the balcony. While on the balcony it was rained on and it was VERY cold out. I brought it in as soon as I saw it on the balcony. It was out there for at least two cold nights. The next day after I brought it in, I noticed ALL the leaves on the plant were turning yellow. I touched one of the leaves and it fell off without even pulling it. The rest of the leaves wilted and dried up and fell right off with ease, the stem became really soft and mushy feeling. I could see that it was severely shocked. I thought it was dead. I left it on my kitchen counter to see what would happen, I did not water it again until the soil was COMPLETELY dry. The part of the stem that was all mushy earlier was now going thin and appeared to be drying up. The bottom 4 inches or so was still alive though, so I snapped off the top which was dried up and dead. I waited another 3-5 weeks and now it is growing new shoots from all sides. I am very happy about this. I looked on the bottom of my pot and noticed that the roots were surrounding the whole pot and the bottom was more roots than actual soil. I thought it could use a good re-potting.

So today I got a bag of "BLACK GOLD - All purpose potting soil" Its a soil that appears to be very different from the soil the plant came with when I bought it.
    I am wondering if a change in soil types would kill this plant.