Ants and Peonies

Discussion in 'Annuals, Biennials, Perennials, Ferns and Bulbs' started by MannieBoo, May 29, 2009.

1. MannieBoo

MannieBoo Active Member

Hi there;
    I've been observing my peonies for the last several years and noticed that the ants do a little dance on the blooms to be. I would like to know if this is actually stimulating the bloom to grow or is it an "Old wives tale" which I've heard it is, but then I also observed that some would be blossoms that don't have ants on them don't grow any further. I know the ants like the nectar the peonies produce once they've bloomed. Does anyone else out there have an opinion on this.

2. Barbara Lloyd

Barbara Lloyd Well-Known Member

MannieBoo,
    I have been told, (old wives tale - urban ledgend - who knows?) that unless you have ants the peonies won't do their best. Mine got much healthier looking when the ants finally showed up. Must be some sort of symbiotic relationship.
    barb

3. MannieBoo

MannieBoo Active Member

It amazes me to watch them, it's like they are farming the blooms, very cooperative.

4. togata57

togata57 Generous Contributor 10 Years

Which comes first, the ants or the buds? Maybe the ants are more plentiful in years when the buds are, too. Have to ask my mom about this: not only is she an old wife (63d wedding anniversary next month!) but she has been a peony grower since moving to NY, back in 1950 or so.

5. MannieBoo

MannieBoo Active Member

Here on the east coast we have more ants then we want. But I've noticed that they won't bother with my new peony, just my established one, I've lost two recently, not sure why, could of been because of all the rain we got. The one they are "gardening" now will have two blooms, it's first blooms.
    Congrats to your mom for her up coming anniversary.

6. togata57

togata57 Generous Contributor 10 Years