Newbee needs advice on planting 100 Blue Spruce

Discussion in 'Gymnosperms (incl. Conifers)' started by Bark Head, Jan 21, 2008.

1. Bark Head

Bark Head Member

Ok, I love the outdoors and have some knowledge of conifers, but I have never done this type of mass planting before. Let me see if I have this right. I am going to have a soil sample done on the planting site. 1. What is the best ph for Colorado Blue's? I will be preparing the planting site by plowing the field and then discing to level out the planting site. I am purchasing 100 colorado blue spruce from a nursery, they will range in size from 2/3 18" to 30" and the seed source is Santa Fe and San Juan. I thought the size of these would help with the survival rate and also I would not have to wait for 20 years to see some actual progress with them. 2. What type of survival rate should I expect? 3. When I plant these should I use post holediggers for the hole or should I just use a shovel? 4. How big of a root system should I expect with these trees that I am getting from the nursery? I have heard two different storys on adding anything to the soil as a fertilizer or stabelizer. 5. Should I use anything but the soil from the hole of the planting site? I had planned on putting down a single strip of faberic weed gaurd around each tree (2 X4 piece) and then using mulch around each tree to keep weeds down and help with keeping the soil moist. 6. Is there anything I need to know about using the faberic gaurd or mulch around each tree and are those both good or bad ideas? 7. I have also heard not to fertilize for the first full year, is this true? 8. How much water will each tree require each week if it does not rain?Any help would be appreciated, I am really excited about taking this task on. Just so you know the reason I am doing this, I own 20 acres, 15 wooded and five open, my house sit's right in the middle of the open part. I already have about 400 white pines and austrian pines four deep surrounding the