Acer palmatum 'Sango Kaku'

Discussion in 'Acer palmatum cultivars (photos)' started by stephen2602, Apr 19, 2004.

1. stephen2602

stephen2602 Member

Greetings fellow AP lovers.

Considering that we have had the worst weather this summer (weeks of plus 90 degrees F temps and even still quite warm for Mid Autumn), I am surprised that one of my beloved Coral barks has survived and coloured up like this. Enjoy a couple of pics I took this weekend.

Excuse the names but I could not be bothered changing them. The come direct from my camera.

Stephen

Attached Files:

2. CHR

CHR Member

I have been growing one in a container for about 5 years in partial shade.I find it's spring leaf color and its red bark to be it's best time of show.I am getting ready to plant it in to the garden in full sun,I hope the sun won't hurt it's coloration.How dose your tree handle the sun and heat of you climate?

Attached Files:

GardenCycles likes this.
  3. MtnGato

MtnGato Active Member

In No. Carolina, mine gets sun for about 2/3 of the day and is doing great!

Attached Files:

4. chumasero

chumasero Active Member

Re: Sango Kaku pics.

My Acer Palmatum 'Sango kaku' this spring.

Attached Files:

5. Andre

Andre Active Member Maple Society 10 Years

Re: Sango Kaku pics.

Hi MtnGato,

Your pictures has been taken one year ago.

Could you send some recent pictures to see the growth of young Sango kaku in one year ?

I have one that seems to be a slow grower and would like to compare to others.

Thank you

6. Andre

Well, in June, my Sango kaku looked like a slow grower (I think it was because I repotted it in March).

Now it seems it's really a fast grower since the new growth takes one meter in 6 month !

I like the golden fall leaves of this cultivar.

Attached Files:

7. Idacer

Idacer Active Member Maple Society 10 Years

We usually don't get much of anything for fall colors. It's been a lot better this year.