Datura innoxia classification vs Datura wrightti

Discussion in 'Plants: Nomenclature and Taxonomy' started by Unregistered, Mar 31, 2005.

1. Hello there,

I have a question that has arisen in regards to my research. I am a graduate at New Mexico State University and I am studying Datura innoxia. I am close to my graduation date and it how now come to question whether I did study Datura innoxia. A taxonomist has determined that my plant is Datura wrighttii. However, he is looking at a wild plant that was brought into our greenhouse. I ordered my seeds from a company based out of Seattle. What I would like is to see if anyone has a taxonomic key to discribe both innoxia and wrighttii. Or possibly journal publications regarding such issues. Thanks...

2. Linda Jennings

Linda Jennings Active Member 10 Years

Hello Yancy,
    My sympathies go out to you as I know many grad students who have run into this problem before (including myself). There seems to be a major rearrangement of names going on here due to auct non. (This means that the plant name is incorrect due to a misidentification.) If you go to plants.usda.gov and put in Datura, you can see how many names have changed due to this auct non., but they do show D. innoxia, D. inoxia and D. wrightii are all still in use. I also contacted a friend (Mark) who is a Botanist down in Arizona and this was his reply.