Ants, ants, and more ants

Discussion in 'Garden Pest Management and Identification' started by Margaret C., Jul 22, 2007.

1. Margaret C.

Margaret C. Member

Big black ants, little black ants, little red ants, even a few with wings ...
    Okay I am fairly new to gardening. I think I am fairly good for a newbie, but I have some possibly stupid questions. I feel like my yard is a haven for every possible kind of ant. Along the seems of paving stones, under mulch, under and around edging bricks, it's ants, ants, ants!
    So, I have a few questions:
    1. How bad are they for the plants?
    2. Could they be what is eating the lower leaves of my Hostas and much of the leaves off of my Lily of the Valleys?
    3. What are the most environmentally friendly ways to massacre the little buggers?

I am not strictly organic, but lean that way as much as possible.
    I live in coastal Mass., if that makes a difference.

Last edited: Jul 22, 2007
  2. Daniel Mosquin

Daniel Mosquin Paragon of Plants UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator 10 Years

Go to the main forum for Garden Pest Management and ID, then click on the Search this forum button in the upper right. Search for ants - should address most of your questions, if not all of them.

3. growing4it

growing4it Active Member 10 Years

My guess for you hostas would be slugs. Are there slime trails? If there are slime trails you've got slugs and snails. As for the ants, I generally leave them alone but did find that borax was an effective deterrant to ants coming inside.

4. Margaret C.

Margaret C. Member

Hey if they don't hurt anything, I'll try to co-exist. I really don't like the tiny hills at the corner of every patio stone, though. Woud putting borax there help?
    We certainly have snails, but I didn't know that they hurt planets, just thought they were bird food. The Hostas can take it, but the Lillies of the valley are in trouble. What can I do about the snails then? Thanks!