Orchid Identification without blooms

Discussion in 'Orchidaceae (orchids)' started by Adicus, Sep 22, 2005.

1. Adicus

Adicus Member

Hi,

I had an opportunity recently to harvest some orchid clippings. Unfortunately I was in a hurry and did not have the opportunity label them. Thinking at the time I could figure it out using the Internet/Google. Unfortunately, almost all orchid identification I can find online is focused on the blooms.

I have photographed the clippings and have them posted at the following site;

http://www.frognet.org/gallery/orchids

I am a beginner and I am also very sorry for not taking the time to document each clipping. However, I would like to take care of the orchids to the best of my abilities and would therefore like to identify them.

We live in Arizona and we need to raise most tropical plants in vivariums. When I lucked into these clippings I immediately ordered a Klima-gro indoor green house, and hope to know more about these clippings by the time it arrives and I have to set it up.

I tried contacting the source of the clippings, but they are too busy to help.

Any contributions or suggestion on how best to identify these, would be appreciated. Also, when photographed I had mounted many temporarily on egg crate or cork bark without sphag., so if anyone is horrified by that, please give me recommendations and I will do my best to follow them.

Thanks in Advance!!

Greg Sihler
    Arizona Dendrobate Ranch
    http://www.azdr.com
    gsihler@sihler.net

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

The one that looks like an epiphytic cactus may be distinctive enough for someone to get in the ballpark, perhaps the one that looks like an anthurium as well. Otherwise, there are many thousands of kinds - you will really just have to wait for flowers.

3. Eric La Fountaine

Eric La Fountaine Contributor Forums Moderator 10 Years