New to grape growing

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by Debra L, Jun 11, 2012.

1. Debra L

Debra L Member

Hi, I live in Midwest U.S. on the tip of Nebraska /Kansas /Missouri border. I have a grape vine that is possibly 100 years old it was planted by my husbands grandmother. I have been here for 14 years and just found and started pruning this vine a year ago. I went out yesterday and started cutting back the vines as I am starting late.

I found that there are small grape clusters on the vines there has never been anything on these vines before that I have found when cutting them back. These were small green clusters on some and others with not much or any on them. I cut off some of the clusters with no grapes or if they were some that had many cluster in the same place so to thin them. I am new to grape growing
    but I am one of these people that have a green thumb and can grow anything.

Plants seem to love me as much as I do them if it has a seed or can be started from cutting, bulb,or other I am growing it my yard my house are all full of plants flowers ect. and now working on grapes. I am not sure what kind of grapes I have found but my husband said his grandmother used to make jelly and that the grapes were blue. So as I said I am new to grape growing would anyone know what kind of grapes I might have here and can they only be used for jelly or can I make wine to? I also have elderberry's growing class and can make something with them together please let me know if anyone knows what kind of grapes I am growing. Thanks,

2. Sea Witch

Sea Witch Active Member

Debra, welcome to the forum.

It would be helpful if you could post some photos of your grape vine/grapes. As a rule, your post will get more replies if you post photos so people can see what you're talking about.....

3. vitog

vitog Contributor 10 Years