Coquitlam Tree Cutting Permit Bylaw Review

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gardening in the Pacific Northwest' started by DianneBond, Jan 20, 2007.

1. DianneBond

DianneBond Member

Coquitlam residents can hurry and support the mayor in providing better protection for trees by sending email to her at mwilson@coquitlam.ca with copies to the arborist, EGorby@coquitlam.ca and the city clerk at ssantarossa@coquitlam.ca as soon as possible.
    There will be a public consultation session early this year that will be announced at www.coquitlam.ca, or you can contact Environment Services at (604) 927-3482 for information.
    This is my first post. I have never done anything like this before and will not be monitoring this site. I hope this message reaches the right people.
    Thank you for your attention.

2. KarinL

KarinL Well-Known Member 10 Years

I'm having a really bad reaction to this post and think it is for the following reasons:

- it assumes that people will want to leap onto a bandwagon about which the poster provides no information whatsoever, appealing only to emotion with unsupported use of trigger words (tree protection).

- the poster expliticly states that she has no interest in anyone else's input on the subject - is only broadcasting her point of view; nor does she have enough interest in the forum to even check for responses, only in what it can do for her and her cause.

- she is polarizing what is already a polarized issue with excessive emotion and with the implication that there is an enemy (tree haters?) against whom the mayor needs support.

3. DianneBond

DianneBond Member

I am very sorry you feel that way. Please forgive me, it won't happen again.

4. NiftyNiall

NiftyNiall Active Member 10 Years

I hope the proposed bylaw, will also cover the Cities,(read,OUR) lands. To frequently any concerned resident, who informs the City about any type of tree problem, will find the tree removed, even though the risk is extremely slight to private properties.