1. shrimpgirl

shrimpgirl Member

hello,

I am making plans at the moment to re-design my garden along permaculture lines. as well as have some yummy fruit and veggies to eat, i was hoping to have something like mint as a small market crop.
    I was thinking about mint because in my experience with friends' gardens mint always seems to do pretty well and spread easily.
    But I'm only a novice gardener, so I was hoping someone here could tell me some of the basics about mint
    e.g. shade or sun? heavy watering, well-drained, less watering? common pests and diseases?
    For some reason I had the impression that mint likes a lot of watering and partial sun, and does ok in colder temps, but since i cant remember where I go that information, it could be wrong!!

Thanks for the tips!
    -robin

2. lorax

lorax Rising Contributor 10 Years

Mint - part shade is probably the best for nice, full, well-developed leaves. Well-drained soils and regular water will make it grow faster; it's a weedy plant, though, and will thrive in most conditions. Very little will eat it, since it's so aromatic; it's actually an ingredient in natural ant repellants and other naturally-sourced insecticides....

Wherever you plant it, make sure that it's a contained bed. Otherwise it will attempt to take over your entire yard.... I've always had good luck with rock-lined beds, which also tend to hold water a bit, and the plants seem to like it.

3. shrimpgirl

shrimpgirl Member

hey lorax thanks for your reply!

yea, i've seen mint get a bit weedy before in my friends herb and veggie gardens, but i'm hoping to make it into a market crop so i'd be harvesting a fair bit of it, which i think would help keep in under control (?)