Need Help Deciding on Maples!

Discussion in 'Maples' started by FOCO, Feb 3, 2015.

1. FOCO

FOCO New Member

Well its winter again, which means I’m spending my free time deciding what plants I want to purchase for the spring. I’ve been growing Japanese maples for about 4 or 5 years now, all in containers (air pots), due to the fact that I don’t live in the most idea area for growing these plants - Front Range in Northern Colorado. Even with growing them in containers I still face some complications. Our air is very dry – nice for humans, but most plants don’t like it, we're at about 5,000 above sea level, so we have some pretty strong sun rays, and we have some major temperature swings from day to night. But I love these trees none the less and continue to add more to my collection every year. I actually haven’t lost very many, so they seem to be OK with the conditions I’m giving them.

I’ve been using the UBC forum as an information source for quite a while now, but haven’t ever made a post... I guess there is no time like the present. I’ve came up with a list of maples I’m considering purchasing for this upcoming spring, but the list is way too long. I was wondering if some of you would be willing to give me advice on which maples from my list you like the most. Unfortunately, I’m never able to see any of these trees in person because most nurseries around here never carry Japanese maples, and if they do, the selection is limited at best. So most of these I would be growing in containers, but I’m thinking about planting a Shirasawanum in my yard this year, so I’ve included a few of those on my list too.

So here are the trees I’m considering:

1) Shin deshojo
    2) Amber Ghost
    3) Komache hime
    4) Villa Taranto
    5) Peaches and Cream
    6) Tsukushi gata
    7) Geisha Gone Wild
    8) Ruby Stars
    9) Shojo no mai
    10) Twombley’s Red Sentinel
    11) Ariadne
    12) Phoenix
    13) Iro Iro
    14) Umegae
    15) Shigure bato
    16) Sunset