Growing JM in Vietnam

Discussion in 'Maples' started by kalod, Jan 14, 2015.

1. kalod

kalod New Member Maple Society

Hi friends,

I'm a newbie in growing JM, in Vietnam.

I got some seeds from one of my friend, he already made stratification and gave me.
    I sow seeds after found that it sprouted out.

Here are some photos.
    May I call it Acer Palmatum var.Dissectum?
    I came across some web and found that they called it Acer Amoneum Baldsmith.

Can anybody advise me which is correct?
    What should I do with it for next season?
    Here winter's lowest 50F, it produced new flush after I used bulb, cause after 2 real leaves, I found it stayed still :D.

Many thanks in advance!

Attached Files:

2. Atapi

Atapi Well-Known Member

Hi Kalod,

It is very difficult to name your new seedling if you don't know where your friend is getting the seed from i.e. a JM tree or buying seeds on line or from someone else. Even if you know which tree the seed came from, it is still not 100% sure that you can name the young one after the mother tree if the mother is a grafted tree.

From the pics, it looks like you have a red Acer palmatum on the dissectum side but there is almost 100 of cultivar in the dissectum itself. So you can call it: AP- red dissectum or red lace-leaf for now until you find out more details about the seed. Or you can try your best to match up the leaf that you have with some listed on the web to see if you can come close to any but it is still a difficult chore to name it correctly and sometimes you may have to observe it throughout the year to see what the leaf color is changing in order to name it properly.

If you are in Hanoi, perhaps you may be able to grow JM but keep in mind it will need to stay in a shade during the summer when the temp get too hot over there especially for the dissectum type, their leaves are not as tough as the other type.