Cycads, anyone?

Discussion in 'Outdoor Tropicals' started by Sunset Cycads, Aug 4, 2005.

1. Sunset Cycads

Sunset Cycads Active Member 10 Years

Hello. My name is Lori and I have been growing cycads from seed for four years. I now have almost all the genera represented in my collection. I have started a small cottage nursery, raising only the rarer species -- no cycas revoluta. Is anyone else growing the zamias, dioons, or cycas?

2. Michael Anderson

Michael Anderson Member

Wow! I am not growing cvcads from seed, but I DO want to say, congratulations!

3. Sunset Cycads

Do you have any cycads, Michael?

4. neobb

neobb Member

Hi garden of eden,

Do you have the Taiwan cycad species? I think it is taitungensis?

Do you sell your plants?

Thanks!

5. Hi,

yes, I am growing Dioon Edules and Revolutas with some success. I keep them in a human incubator at about 90 degrees and 70-80% humidity in peat pellets. They are doing quite well except I am getting some mold on some seeds. Any suggestions?

April

6. Sunset Cycads

April, if the seeds with the mold have not sprouted yet I would advise soaking them in a mold inhibitor available from your local nursery -- there are many products available. Also, make sure that no organic residue of the fruit has been left on the seed. If so, scrape it off. That will surely go moldy in your high heat, high humidity environment. If the seeds have sprouted, remove them to a drier environment; that will help to control the mold. Good luck!

Neobb, I do sell my plants, but unfortunately I do not have any taitungensis. I do have Cycas panzihuaensis, Dioon edule, Macrozamia communis, and Zamia vasquezii for sale.

7. Sunset Cycads

Neobb, I do sell my plants, but unfortunately I do not have any taitungensis. I do have Cycas panzihuaensis, Dioon edule, Macrozamia communis, and Zamia vasquezii for sale.

8. neobb

neobb Member

Hi Garden of eden,

How much is your Cycas panzihuaensis?

Thank you.

9. Sunset Cycads

Hello, Neobb.