ipm to control black spot on roses

Discussion in 'Garden Pest Management and Identification' started by aszywala, Mar 13, 2003.

1. aszywala

aszywala Member

Good morning,
    I work as a gardener for the City of London, Ontario. We grow about 2000 roses. To control black spot, I have sprayed roses 3-4 times a year with Funginex and Daconil.
    Daconil has been banned and I thought about spraying with baking soda ( 2g/1 liter) and Funginex.
    I would like to ask what products are used to control black spot on roses at the UBC Botanical Garden.
    Thank you very much for your help.
    Best regards,
    Al.Szywala

2. HortLine

HortLine Active Member 10 Years

Sorry we have taken so long!
    Actually, we only grow species roses, great big climbers mostly, and enjoy the fact they do not get black spot and are pretty well disease free!

3. westgatea

westgatea Active Member

I have been wary of roses on the coast, since in the South Okanagan they grew all on their own - no worries! However, since Black Spot is such a pest here, I have been doing some research and have found, according to my source, that cornmeal sprinkled on the ground around the trunk will greatly reduce Black Spot. I have no idea if it works, but I'm trying it! (Apparently this is a remedy used by peanut farmers - I have no idea what for!) westgate.

4. petals

petals Member

I have made a brew of horsetails, boiled for 3 hours. Once cooled place in a spray bottle, and spray the black spot on the roses. It does eliminate the spots, and is environmentally safe.

Good luck. Petals

5. pwhusband@shaw.ca

pwhusband@shaw.ca Member

black spot

the last canadian gardening mag. has this recipe:itbsp. baking soda,1tbsp dish soap to 1 gal h20. spray every 7-10 days.I will try it this yr.just thought I'd pass this info along to you.good luck.

6. Puddleton

Puddleton Active Member 10 Years

Re: black spot

Organic blackspot control requires the two pronged approach,
    1, upstairs