Moving a Red Japanese Maple from a Pot to my Garden

Discussion in 'Maples' started by meriden 49ers, Aug 27, 2008.

1. meriden 49ers

meriden 49ers Member

Hello,
    As you will be able to know I am a novice.

I went to Home Depot and saw a very nice 5ft tall Red Japanese Maple and bought it because it was a really good price. I believe it is in a 10# plastic container.

It looks pretty nice, I have many questions but I will not bore you too much.

I am in Meriden CT, which I think is Zone 6.
    Our temps now in the last week of August: days as high as 83 F and night as low as 58 F....and getting cooler

I want to move the tree from the pot that came in to the ground.
    Can I do it now?

In terms of placing.....i read a lot about the sun and sunburn leaves, but in some sites I read there is no bad place to place it as long as I give it plenty of water during the hot days of summer...is that true??

Of course I dont want to shock the tree, so, should I add different soil or should I just keep the soil that it came with?

Thank you for help....is very appreciated.

AV

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years