Newbie dilemma on small space gardening

Discussion in 'Small Space Gardening' started by GreenGarden, Feb 16, 2007.

1. GreenGarden

GreenGarden Member

Hi

I am very new to the concept of gardening.. In fact I have started reading some books on container gardening just to get an idea of gardening in a small space. I would like to have a garden in the small patio of my apartment. The patio faces the north, but it is open and gets good sunlight from the east west directions..We live in Fremont,CA,..So i am assuming we r in Zone 9. Would love to know what r some good flowering plants for me to start with..And also what all I would need to start off.. Any recommendations on local nurseries too will be appreciated.

Thanks and regards.

2. violetbaby123

violetbaby123 Member

Don't be scared!!! Just get some good size pots (10-12 inches at least) and good potting soil, and don't forget to feed your plants. Some easy ones are Marigolds, zinnias, and periwinkle to start with. If you sun isn't too strong, when it warms up, Impatiens would be great too. There are many different colors. I am in zone 9 here and our growing season is about to start. By the way, if you have a window at this northern exposure, it is an excellent place for an African Violet inside. Just have fun!!!

3. GreenGarden

GreenGarden Member

Thanks for the encouragement.
    Shall surely try it out.

4. Newt

Newt Well-Known Member 10 Years

Hi GreenGarden,

You can check your hardiness zone here with this zip code zone finder.
    http://www.gardenweb.com/zones/zip.cgi

Most potting soil comes with fertilizer added these days so be careful with what you purchase. There are some organic potting soils out there but you will have to search. If you do get one that has fertilizer already in it I would caution you about adding more fertilizer when you water for about 3 months as that is how long the slow release fertilizers last.

When selecting plants keep in mind that:
    Full sun is 6 hours or more