Seeking advice as a beginning botonist

Discussion in 'Plants: Identification' started by Tom Baxter, Mar 18, 2015.

1. Tom Baxter

Tom Baxter New Member

Hi all,

I am a 24 year old naturalist with an expertise in avifauna and an interest in all of the natural world. I am interested in broadening my knowledge about wild plants in my area around Cape May, New Jersey, USA. I have been doing some thinking, and I believe that I want to begin archiving a collection of specimens during my daily walks. I want to do this because I have been trying to casually learn about plants and I forget as much as I remember. I will probably become a much more active member of this forum in the future if all goes to plan. I might make a blog, though I have no experience with that yet. My goal is to become familiar with as much of the local ecosystem as possible.

My plan for teaching myself how to identify plants and to classify ecosystems is this:
    1. Take a field note book and take as many descriptive notes as possible. Decriptive notes on the specimen as well as the surrounding environment in every case.
    2. Collect and arbitrarily label specimens (example of a name- "A1"). This will allow for organized archiving.
    3. Press all specimens when possible to do so.
    4. Post-field examination and study with field guides, textbooks, magnifying glass and microscope when necessary.

I am curious what advice an experienced botonist could offer me. I find that learning to identify plants is much more difficult than any of my other studies. I currently own a Newcomb wildflower guide, as well as a Peterson guide to trees. I am looking for any advice, especially on recommended text,magnifying glasses/microscopes.

2. tipularia

tipularia Well-Known Member 10 Years