Yellow brugs

Discussion in 'Annuals, Biennials, Perennials, Ferns and Bulbs' started by soccerdad, Jul 23, 2009.

1. soccerdad

soccerdad Active Member 10 Years

I have two brugmansias that I bought last spring. Right now they are about 4' tall.

They are in full sun.

I keep them well watered and well fertilized.

But their leaves are almost all completely yellow.

Any ideas why?

2. joclyn

joclyn Rising Contributor

are they in containers or directly in the ground? what is the composition of the soil?

i'm new to brugs (so, still learning myself) and mine are in pots...they do not get full sun all day long - just for part of the day, a southern exposure, so it's not the harsh afternoon sun.

i don't think they are something for full-sun. so that might be the problem.

could also be not enough water.

can you post some pics?? did you look for spider mites?? well, lol, you can't see them because they're so tiny...they leave little wispy webs at the tops of plants where the new growth comes in.

3. soccerdad

We have a new camera but only my kids are smart enough to put the pics on the computer. And they are teenagers and so only spend brief moments at home between parties. I'll see what i can do.

4. Charles Richard

Charles Richard Active Member 10 Years

I have been hesitant to reply about yellowing brugs as I started some cuttings for friends and two of them have commented to me about them being yellow.
    Two of the cuttings, one of which I gave away a month ago and the other just within the week. The one a friend took a month is yellow, but the one I had at home was perfectly green as are all of the ones we have.
    Both of the ones that are yellow are in full sun all day. I quess possibly, the conditions with the full sun here is that it is dry, hot and without the humidity where they might grow natively? Going to tell my friend to try them with only early morning sun or late afternoon.
    I was thinking of other reasons, ie: soil, fertilizer, etc.