Sick Ponytail - White Spots (Picture Included)

Discussion in 'Caudiciforms and Pachycaul Trees' started by eduboys, Aug 17, 2008.

1. eduboys

eduboys Member

Within the last few weeks my ponytail has developed white dots all over the leaves. They are especially concentrated near the leaf producing section of the plant.

I have one picture of the dots on the actual leaf, and one of the start of the branch. Is there a way to save the plant? What can I do to fix this?

Thanks in advance!

Attached Files:

2. Junglekeeper

Junglekeeper Esteemed Contributor 10 Years

Looks like an infestation of scale. One possible treatment is multiple applications of insecticidal soap as directed on the label. However the soap is ineffective against the adults so it's best to physically remove as much as possible prior to treatment. Though I have no experience with it, horticultural oil may be a more effective treatment in this case.

3. markinwestmich

markinwestmich Active Member

Clean the plant with soapy water and then rinse with a good spray from the hose. Afterward, you may use a "houseplant" insecticide spray. Expect the bugs to return within 2 weeks as eggs hatch. Repeat the process as necessary. If it were a few bugs, then rubbing alcohol on a cotton swab will take care of it.

At some point, I would change the soil. Use a loose, granular mix with little organic material and do not water for a week afterward.

If the plant isn't already outdoors, then moving the plant outdoors to a shady spot will help. The brighter light and air circulation will perk the plant up.

4. Wolvie150

Wolvie150 Active Member

I have used horticultural oil, and it works fairly well - but has the same 'disadvantage' as most chemicals - 2 or 3 applications during that 14 or so day window. I just washed, sprayed with water, let dry, and apply oil. Then 10-12 days later I give it another light spritz, followed by one at 14-15 days (depending on memory).