My $10 Improved Meyer Lemon Tree and some questions...

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by Shawnatshawn, Apr 3, 2013.

1. Shawnatshawn

Shawnatshawn New Member

I recently purchased a new dwarf tree. I got an amazing deal for it - just $10! But I do have some questions and concerns... My main question is, will this stock grow taller? http://imgur.com/rMWbDr7.jpg or will the new growth only show from the top? See, I am quite new to all of this, but I want to have this Meyer lemon looking as much like a little tree as possible. The stock is only about four inches now and I hope to find out that it might be able to at least double in size.

My other concerns are within the following two pictures - http://i.imgur.com/ehFuWGoh.jpg and http://imgur.com/AbFeklb.jpg - some of the other leaves appear to be kind of bent over and just not so "fresh" looking. Does this happen with the older leaves on this tree?

Last question... When can I expect fruit? After flowering? And what does the baby fruit look like? Thanks to all that read and any that have answers to my questions and concerns! Have a great day everyone!

2. Junglekeeper

Junglekeeper Esteemed Contributor 10 Years

The rootstock will not grow any taller. If you prefer a longer main stem, consider removing the lower side branch which could be used to propagate more trees.

The leaves look quite normal. The curly ones likely resulted from growing conditions at the time. Leaves do not become curly as they age.

Fruitlets will form soon after flowering. Here is a picture of some young ones.

3. Shawnatshawn

Shawnatshawn New Member