Ficus Bonsai

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by grewal21, Jan 24, 2008.

1. grewal21

grewal21 Member

Hi there,
    I live in Vancouver, BC and I am looking to get into the art of Bonsai. I have been researching this topic for the past 2 months. I am looking for an indoor Bonsai and think that the Ficus would be best suited for me. I was reading up on the ficus and as they are tolerant of many soil and watering and light conditions. They are known to grow great "banyan" roots naturally, would it be wise to attempt the root over rock style as a beginner? What species of ficus would you recommend? Would spring be the ideal time to purchase a bonsai?

Thanks a million!

2. grewal21

grewal21 Member

Ps- Would starting with a seed be a foolish attempt?

3. Hannabelle

Hannabelle Member

Raw material is a very polemic topic in the art of Bonsai!

There is no reason you cannot make a lovely Bonsai from a seed, but it takes a long long time...

I have no indoor Bonsai myself, but here is a link from Harry Harrington about the suitable Ficus species;-

http://www.bonsai4me.com/SpeciesGuide/Ficus.html

4. 1950Greg

1950Greg Active Member

Langley, B.C. Stones throw from old HBC farm.
    I have a ficus not sure the variety but it was labeled Weeping Fig. I have it planted in a grove style and have had it for 20 some years now. It needs only infrequent transplanting and seems to survive some abuse. The main problem I have had is light like most plants it reaches for the light and gives the bonsai a odd shape if not turned on a regular basis. If you go a head with this I would advise an over head light source of some kind when indoors.

5. grewal21

grewal21 Member

The Weeping Fig was what i was considering. Yes the light situation is a bit tricky I think I may attempt flourescent lighting. In the spring and summer put it outside when the days are really nice. Thanks a lot for the replies, greatly appreciated=)

6. globalist1789