Winner Cultivars

Discussion in 'Maples' started by Scion Swapper, Jul 3, 2006.

1. Scion Swapper

Scion Swapper Active Member

I am both a japanes maple collector by hobby and a propagator/nurseryman by trade. The vast majority of my personal colllection I don't propagate or sell to our customers. The main reason being that many of the 200 or so in my collection, and 500+ (might be 1000 by now) cultivars on the market don't have a large commercial appeal outside of maple collectors and small volume/high dollar specialty nurseries (to which we generally don't sell). Anyway, I love collecting JMs personallly and I personally justify collecting them from a business standpoint to "evaluate" newer cultivars which may have large scale commercial appeal. In other words, cultivars that are vigorous, cold tolerant, disease resistant, beautiful, and distinguish themselves from the sea of cultivars already out there. All that being said, I'd like to discuss a newer cultivar that I think is a "winner" and I'd like to hear from other growers/collectors about some cultivars that they feel are underutilized. By the way, by saying commercial appeal, I don't mean to be sold at Home Depot and Lowes, but rather commercial appeal to be sold at high-end garden centers or by In-the-know landscapers. Anyway, heres my winner pick:

Acer palmatum 'Emerald Lace' - This is a winner cultivar for a variety of reasons that I'll list:
    1. Vigor - this tree grows like no other dissectum that I'm aware of. I used to think 'Green Hornet' and 'Orangeola' were tops in vigor, but this thing beats them both. It's not uncommon for our fresh grafts to push 3 feet of growth (1 meter) during the first year. The second flush of growth can also be 6-12 inches forming a nice branched liner the first year. This tree grows like Mark McGuire on steriods (US reference) or Lance Armstrong at the Tour de France (bad French reference-- sorry he he).