Vancouver - Locating wild Sambucus cerulea (blue elderberry)

Discussion in 'Pacific Northwest Native Plants' started by Steveshotton, Oct 13, 2011.

1. Steveshotton

Steveshotton Member

This is my first time using this forum.

I was hoping for help in locating some wild blue elderberry - Sambucus cerulea. From research it appears that it is indigenous to the lower mainland area, BC.

I recently moved back from living in the UK and while there was introduced to the elderberry / flower. I really enjoy the uses of this plant and would live to find it.

I live in the tri cities area but would travel to find.

Anyone help me to locate????????????

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

3. Silver surfer

Silver surfer Generous Contributor 10 Years

4. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

A combination in use is Sambucus nigra ssp. caerulea. The online RHS Plant Finder gives one British supplier.

Last edited: Oct 13, 2011
  5. Daniel Mosquin

Daniel Mosquin Paragon of Plants UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator 10 Years

I travel by a plant every day on my commute -- but it is in a city park and cannot be harvested from. Did you want to find a plant to see or to harvest from?

6. Steveshotton

Steveshotton Member

Thanks for the quick replies. I have not seen a plant locally but havent invested enough time to searching while out for a walk maybe?

Just hoping to find one or some to be able to enjoy the wonderful fruits and flowers.

7. Daniel Mosquin

Daniel Mosquin Paragon of Plants UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator 10 Years

8. Barbara Lloyd

Barbara Lloyd Well-Known Member

There is a plant on the fence at our local Senior Center. Do you ever get down to Anacortes? The Plant is on the east side of the building on the fence line. barb

Last edited: Sep 28, 2016
  9. Steveshotton

Steveshotton Member

Thank you very much Daniel, I plan on keeping my eyes peeled!!! ... :)