Staghorn Spore Propagation

Discussion in 'Plant Propagation' started by garcam123, Sep 24, 2008.

1. garcam123

garcam123 Member

Hi all:
    Noob here for Staghorns. I took a flat plastic container and boiled some water and placed a couple of old bricks and set them in the water. Then I scraped some spores off of a cutting I had and spread them over the bricks and placed the top on and placed them in a shaded warm area. I left them alone for a couple of months and went to look at them a week or so ago. Viola! there was GREEN on the spores! It is still very small and I am watching it closely. I don't know what to do or when to try to transplant them. Can someone tell me what I should do? I'd hate to lose them by doing something too soon or something like that!

Thanks,
    GMC

2. Millet

Millet Well-Known Member 10 Years