How do I get rid of bluebells?

Discussion in 'Garden Design and Plant Suggestions' started by AllThumbs, Jun 3, 2006.

1. AllThumbs

AllThumbs Member

I am a newbie gardener and have, in my ignorance, allowed the bluebells in my front border to multiply unchecked for several years. They now completely carpet the ground under 3 medium size rhodos and have popped up in between the rocks that form the edge of the border. They are also in among the perennials and shrubs further up the border. Last year I tried digging them out, but they came back in what seemed like greater numbers this spring. In some areas it isn't possible to dig them out because the bulbs are so deep, or are located under or in amongst the roots of other plants, under the sidewalk, the big rocks... While I like them, I obviously have way too many. Is there any alternative to digging up the entire area and replacing the soil (please tell me there is!!!)?

2. Helen Leung

Helen Leung Active Member 10 Years

You can give them to me! LOL. Have you tried boiling water? That works really well on other weeds.

3. AllThumbs

AllThumbs Member

Thanks, Helen - what a great idea! You don't think the hot water will harm the rhodo roots, do you? The bluebells are growing right under them. But if boiling water will get rid of the darn things, I'll get out there with my kettle first thing in the morning!