Lost grape clusters

Discussion in 'Grapes and Grape Vines' started by cubby, Jun 2, 2005.

1. cubby

cubby Member

Hello and thank you for helping me in advance. I am new to growing grapes, so new that I don't even know what kind of grapes that I have? They are on a very healthy vine that grows around my front porch. They look like concord and taste sweet and are very good to make jam with. But this year I had more clusters of grapes than last year. When they first formed on the vine, the grapes clusters were full and everything looked very healthy. I am on water restrictions and can only water every other day. I have now noticed that all my clusters have little white stems sticking out where the grape was growing. Some of the grapes are still there but out of 20 or 30 in the cluster there are now only 5 or 10 grapes left in the cluster. This happened over night, I don't know what has done this? When I first moved here,this grape vine was neglected badly. It was lying on the ground and never pruned or trellised. But the grapes were plentiful and and the vine was healthy. What have I done wrong. I pruned the vine right back with the help of a grape growing Italian neighbor. He look at my grape vine yesterday and said that he has never seen anything like this before.
    Can any one tell me what has happened and what can I do? The vine is growing great and is very healthy. Cubby.

2. Eric La Fountaine

Eric La Fountaine Contributor Forums Moderator 10 Years

Hey Cubby, sounds like some little critter came and ate some of the grapes during the night. Hard to say what it might have been, raccoons, birds, squirrels??

I have had squirrels eat my green tomatoes during drought. I think they were really after a source of water.

3. Ralph Walton

Ralph Walton Active Member 10 Years