Need citrus fertilizer and soil mix

Discussion in 'Citrus' started by ddwisema, Mar 20, 2009.

1. ddwisema

ddwisema Member

Cannot find anywhere where to purchase fertilizer for my Meyer Lemon Tree. I found on this website a suggestion for 25-5-15 fertilizer for my container lemon tree. But I cannot find anywhere where to purchase this. Local Menards/Walmart/local nursery does not have this. Also, on this website, it mentions a 3 part pine bark chip, 1 part coarse sand, 2 part peatmoss mix. I figured if I cannot find the mix I would buy each and mix them myself. Anyone have any ideas to help me? Also, What trace element will I need? Is this in the fertilizer or should I get some other mix to add these?
    Sorry for all the questions. I am a newbie to growing my tree I got last fall.

I was having no growth until a couple of weeks ago, but now it is growing like crazy. But now I have leaf drop. I want to change fertilizer (my local green house gave me a mixture 9-59-8), and I want to replant the tree to check for root rot. The current plant is 16" tall, 3/8" diam trunk and currently it is in a 6" pot. Any recomendations would be appreciated. Thank you

Current location, Freeport, IL USA Zone 5

2. Davidgriffiths

Davidgriffiths Active Member

ddwisema,

You'll find that most people recommend a 5-1-3 mix.

I've never bought or tried this, but Dr Earth Organic 9 is supposed to work for citrus:

http://www.drearth.com/products/blended/organic-9tm.php

It's a 7-4-2, and there is a store locator on their site.

For a potting mix, search the ubc forums for CHC (coconut husk chips) and coir (a coconut peat replacement). The people who really know meyer lemons have posted this info all over the place.