Rose of Sharon pests?

Discussion in 'Annuals, Biennials, Perennials, Ferns and Bulbs' started by WendyI, Aug 2, 2005.

1. WendyI

WendyI Member

Sorry, I'm not very good at remembering botanical names but I think this is actually the name for this shrub/tree.

Anyway, one of mine seems to have holes all over the leaves on most of the bottom leaves. I've attached a pic but I'm a pretty bad photographer and I think my husband has our camera cranked so it might be large...sorry.

It's fairly obvious to me that something is eating it but I'm not sure what it might be or how serious. I have other ROS plants in another area that do not seem to be affected and are already blooming...but this one seems slow to bloom...however there are buds so I do expect it to bloom soon.

Attached Files:

2. Michael F

Michael F Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator 10 Years

That's actually a Hibiscus (a Hibiscus species), not a Rose of Sharon

3. WendyI

WendyI Member

It is a member of the Hibiscus family but here in Ontario we call it a Rose of Sharon....so yes hibiscus would be the correct identification.

However, these "shrubs" and I quote since they can grow up to 20 feet, don't seem to be as susceptible to spider mite as the tropical variety and are winter hardy.

4. Carol Ja

Carol Ja Active Member 10 Years

As for the plant id, I don't know, but I can tell you that you have catapillars eating you leaves. If you look carefully, you might be able to find one. Chances are it is happening only when your not looking, my roses sometimes get the same ones.
    Carol Ja

5. Puddleton

Puddleton Active Member 10 Years

Hibiscus syriacus
    if only the bottom leaves have been munched than I wouldnt worry about it.Their remarkably tough

6. Youngneg

Youngneg Member

Yes i also have the same problem....and i see the pests....it is catapillers.What should i use to solve the problem.

7. Puddleton

Puddleton Active Member 10 Years